Working with your knowledge base starts with the Navigation Bar at the top of the screen, as shown here:
This Navigation Bar provides easy access to all of the functionality of the knowledge base, organized into easy to find sections. Note that the options displayed here will be limited based on the assigned
. For example, non-staff
type users will not see any of these options and will not be able to access any of the functionality described below - they will only be able to access the main knowledge base articles, categories and search pages in addition to the
option provides an overview of the status of your knowledge base service including various metrics
option allows you to edit categories and articles within the knowledge base.
The Users option can be used to associate Users with defined
Note that users are NOT created or edited using this option, only group assignment is done here. Use the Users option in the accounts portal to edit users (MANAGER
role permission is needed to do this)
option defines those groups that can be associated with
option allows you to modify the theme for your knowledge base, by creating a custom Cascading Style Sheet (CSS) as well as optionally creating custom header and footer sections for public facing pages and optionally assigning a custom favicon that users see when visiting your knowledge base, all of which can be useful in matching the style and persona for your company or group. You can even create links back to your main website.
The Settings option allows ADMIN users (see
) to change the
associated with your knowledge base service, such as how many featured articles are shown, etc.
To the far right of the Navigation Bar, the User Dropdown menu is shown. If you click on this button (shown with the "James" label shown in the example above), you will see additional links, providing access to your account and profile settings, as well as allowing you to log out of the system.
If you are not logged into the system, or not registered, you may see buttons allowing you to register or log in here instead.
Note that the Register button is only shown when the "Public Registration" setting is enabled in account settings. If this setting is disabled, then the Register option is not shown - only the login option will be shown to allow authorized users to log in